Taxonomy Of Appetite

child-524524_960_720Alexandre Dumas is known for authoring some of the well-known books like The Three Musketeers and The Count of Monte Cristo. Today, he is also known as a formidable gastronome and masterful cook. He actually authored one of the literary history’s rarest culinary treasures – The Alexandre Dumas’ Dictionary of Cuisine. In fact, he considers this book as his masterwork. In it, he delivers a taxonomy of appetite.

3 Types Of Appetites

1. Appetite that comes from hunger – A piece of raw meat will placate it as easily as a roasted woodcock or pheasant.

2. Appetite aroused by a delicious dish appearing at the right moment – This illustrates the proverb that hunger often comes with eating.

3. Appetite aroused at the end of a meal – When normal hunger has been satisfied by the main course, a delectable dish holds him to the table tempting his sensuality.

3 Types Of Gluttony

1. Gluttony that is one of the 7 deadly sins.

2. Gluttony of delicate souls – This is illustrated by a host gathering together several friends, never less numerous than the Graces, and does his utmost in order to distract their minds and cater to their tastes.

3. Bulimia – This is a perpetual and insatiable hunger. It originates from “boulimia”, a Greek word for “ravenous hunger”.

Trivia Info Resource:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s